Murray faces ‘Child Fed’ as a substitute of Federer at ATP Cup


MELBOURNE (Information) – Former world primary Andy Murray is in line to play Grigor Dimitrov within the opening spherical of the inaugural ATP Cup, with Bulgaria qualifying among the many closing six groups within the nation-based match.

FILE PHOTO: Tennis – China Open – Males’s Singles – Quarterfinals – Nationwide Tennis Middle, Beijing, China – October four, 2019. Britain’s Andy Murray in motion towards Dominic Thiem of Austria. Information/Thomas Peter/File Photograph

Briton Murray, on the comeback path after hip surgical procedure, was initially set to face Roger Federer in a blockbuster Group C conflict in Sydney however the 20-times Grand Slam champion pulled out of the Jan. Three-12 match, making Switzerland ineligible.

Bulgaria have changed Switzerland within the group, that means Murray as a substitute faces a potential match with Dimitrov, dubbed “Child Fed” for his related enjoying type to the Swiss grasp.

Chile, Poland, Uruguay, Moldova and Norway are the opposite 5 groups that certified for the 24-nation discipline on the shut of the second and closing deadline.

The six group winners and the 2 finest second-placed finishers throughout the teams attain the ATP Cup Finals in Sydney.

Every tie includes two singles and one doubles match.

World primary Rafa Nadal kicks off his match with Spain in Perth towards Group B rivals Japan, Georgia and Uruguay, the match draw confirmed on Thursday.

Serbia, led by world quantity two Novak Djokovic, play Chile, France and South Africa in Group A in Brisbane.

Russian younger gun Daniil Medvedev, overwhelmed within the U.S. Open closing by Nadal, will spotlight Group D for Russia towards the USA, Italy and Norway.

Group F has Germany, Greece, Canada and Australia enjoying off in Brisbane and boasts a mouthwatering array of younger expertise.

German world quantity six Alexander Zverev is more likely to function within the singles together with Greek tyro Stefanos Tsitsipas and tempestuous Australian Nick Kyrgios.


Group A – Serbia, France, South Africa, Chile (Brisbane)

Group B – Spain, Japan, Georgia, Uruguay (Perth)

Group C – Belgium, Nice Britain, Bulgaria, Moldova (Sydney)

Group D – Russia, Italy, United States, Norway (Perth)

Group E – Austria, Croatia, Argentina, Poland (Sydney)

Group F – Germany, Greece, Canada, Australia (Brisbane)

Reporting by Ian Ransom; Modifying by Paul Tait/Peter Rutherford