Henley hit with weird eight-stroke penalty in Mexico

0
84


FILE PHOTO: Russell Henley of the U.S. hits off the second tee throughout third spherical play of the 2018 Masters golf event on the Augusta Nationwide Golf Membership in Augusta, Georgia, U.S. April 7, 2018. Information/Brian Snyder

(Information) – Russell Henley incurred a weird eight-stroke penalty within the second spherical on the Mayakoba Traditional on Saturday after realizing that one of many balls he had performed was totally different from the remaining.

The three-times PGA Tour winner was signing balls for followers when he seen the discrepancy and obtained a two-stroke penalty for every of the holes he performed the totally different ball.

“(Henley) suffered a 2-stroke penalty on holes 9-12, eight strokes in whole, for breach of Rule 20-Three,” the PGA Tour introduced in a tweet.

“As Henley signed balls for followers he seen one ball had a slight distinction from the ball he makes use of. He didn’t know the way it bought in his bag.”

Underneath the “One Ball Rule” used on most professional excursions, golfers should use the identical model and make of ball all through a spherical.

With the eight strokes added, Henley shot a six-over-par 77 and missed the lower.

He carded 66 within the opening spherical and with out the penalty would have been inside hanging distance of the lead.

Reporting by Andrew Each in Cary, North Carolina, modifying by Ed Osmond